Random musings about mountain bikes…

Pedal Pusher

There has been a lot of press recently about flat pedals and their benefits, some of my friends ride flats but they also like to take big stupid jumps (the last time I did that I broke my collar bone).
I have ridden SPD’s for years and come to feel comfortable with that connection to the bike. I know this makes me a bit of a lazy rider and probably hampers my skills to some extent but I like the fact that I can pull a decent bunny hop wearing them.

Anyway this year I am trying to improve my skills so have made the decision to buy a set of flat pedals, I did not want to spend a lot of money on a set thinking that they would be whipped off after the first ride. So I popped down the LBS and had a chat with Nick, he runs a nice Cove Hummer and always has flat pedals on it. Luckily he likes pimping out his bike so swaps them every other week. After a bit of a discussion Nick pointed out that he had a nice set of Point 1 flats out back (2nd hand) which I could have at a discounted rate. Nice one….

Dsc_0202Dsc_0205

So I have now had a couple of rides and am getting used to them, yes they feel weird and my foot has rolled over them at a couple of choice moments but they are not as bad as I initially thought. I have decided that I want to be able to pop a wheelie by the end of the year and am using my friend Stuart as a role model, he can pull one and maintain it for a considerable amount of time and I will admit that I am slightly jealous.

Therefore keep watching this space to see how I get on with the flats, will I improve, will I just have more scars on my shins and calves, will I be able to keep my front wheel in the air for more than 3 seconds?

Another good point – keep friendly and support your local bike shop as you could end up with a set of Point 1’s for half price, only slightly worn!

Leave a Reply

